2 Years Steroid Free!!

I know I have not updated this blog for a long time.
A lot has happened in between.
I checked my last post was when Josh had his first steroid free remission.

To fill in the gap,
Josh had a relapse episode just a month after I posted that last post 😦
It was a roller coaster ride for us.
Although he did not have to go back to the hospital,
my heart was broken to see him back on steroid.

That relapse really pushed me to find the best way to help him.
We decided to put him under strict diet.
Gluten-free, low sodium, low-sugar.
Was it easy? It was painful.

We live in Indonesia.
To find snacks that are gluten-free was like finding diamond in a stack of hay.
We were thankful that Josh’s auntie who lives in Australia helped us a lot. (Thank you so much, Auntie Lala! We love you!)
We were sent supplies of snacks for Josh.

It was so hard to see your son not being able to enjoy things he likes.
No bread, no ice-cream, no table food.
It is okay when he is only with us.
We could adjust to him.
but things were super hard when he was with his friends or his cousins.
He would ask why he couldn’t have what they have.
It was heart-breaking.

But I thank God for an obedient son (at least about his diet 😂).
He diligently follow his diet,
even when we were not around.

He stopped his last steroid medication on Sept 4, 2017.
Fast forward to today, Sept 4, 2019, he has been steroid-free for 2 full years!!
I couldn’t keep my tears of joy.
Thanking God for His endless blessings.

He has not been all healthy within these two years time.
He had been hospitalized because of typhoid fever and even had chicken pox!
But, I thank God that those episodes did not alert his Nephrotic syndrome.

I know that this is not the end. Josh’s doctor also cannot guarantee that he is 100% cured.
But I am thankful to see where we are now.

For those who are struggling with this disease,
those who stumbled here because you are looking for whatever information you can get,
please know that you are not alone,
and that there is always hope.

God never promise the sky is always blue,
it may rain for a while,
but it will not last forever,
keep fighting and look for His rainbow.

Leave a comment